Hudson

The Region

Hudson has long been a place where the arts flourish. Whether it’s the Hudson Village Theatre stage or the Hudson Music Festival, Greenwood’s StoryFest or the Hudson Film Society, the town has always enjoyed a richly diverse cultural life.

CONTACT

For all inquiries about Hudson events: kskulska@hotmail.com
For general inquiries about the festival: arts.alive@quebec-elan.org 

 

For the lat
  • Join us for a memorable experience visiting the studios of 14 artists in and around the Hudson Region. Nestled between the Lake of Two Mountains to the north and Rigaud Mountain to the west, this region offers a kaleidoscope of color to the autumn visitor. Come visit the artists and artisans in their studios and see where their inspiration begins.
  • For the latest schedule, updates and information please visit the Facebook page.

MAP


Our Partners

       

Schedule

Venue Guide

GC – Greenwood Cultural Centre (254 Main Road)

HVT – Hudson Village Theatre (28 Wharf Road)

JLP – Jack Layton Park (Follow signs at Main and Wharf)

VG - Village Green (Cameron Road and Main Road)

AA - Artists Atelier (407 Main Road)

 

 


Thursday July 20

  • 14:00

    &

    19:30


    Hudson Film Society presents- TIFF Official Selection Film "Maudie" 
    Click to read more

    HVT - Hudson Village Theatre 

    Tickets $15. 

    Presented by the Hudson Film Society. 

    MAUDIE, based on a true story (Maud Lewis), is an unlikely romance in which the reclusive Evertt Lewis (Ethan Hawke) hires a fragile yet determined woman named Maudie (Sally Hawkins) to be his housekeeper. Maudie, bright-eyed but hunched with crippled hands, yearns to be independent, to live away from her protective family and she also yearns, passionately, to create art. Unexpectedly, Evertt finds himself falling in love. MAUDIE charts Everett's efforts to protect himself from being hurt, Maudie's deep and abiding love for this difficult man and her surprising rise to fame as a Canadian (Nova Scota) folk painter. 

    With special guest Louis Leprohon, a graduate of Loyola College with a Bachelor of Arts. He lives in St. Lazare and is a well known authority on naive art. As well as being an avid collector, he is also an author and has written adn published a book (in French and English) on the work of Marel Dargis, a Quebec painter whose works provide an insight to life in a Francophone Catholic Parish in Québec. He considers Marcle's contribution to be significant in Québec art, especiall in the preservation of a unique part of Québec's cultural heritage. 

    Artist Audner Smith is to have a small exhibition of her work in the foyer of the Theatre. Audner is a resident of Hudson and a member of the Artiste Hudson Artist group. Her work is charming and very reminiscent of the work of Maude Lewis, particularly in the landscapes. 

    villagetheatre.ca

  • 19:00

    Shakespeare by the Lake: Romeo & Juliet 

     

    Click to read more

    JLP – Jack Layton Park 

    Showtimes: July 12-15 at 19:00

                     July 19-22 at 19:00 

    Presented by the Hudson Players Club with Actors Talk Back

    The Hudson Players Club is at it again with William Shakespeare's "Romeo & Juliet". This will be the 5th edition of their annual Shakespeare by the Lake Series. Director Sophie Gee sets this classic tale in a contemporary setting and infuses it with youthful and rebellious energy.  

    hudsonplayersclub.ca 

Friday July 21 

  • 20:00

    Nathalie Choquette
    Click to read more

    HVT - Hudson Village Theatre

    Tickets: $33 + tax. Purchase them here.

    Internationally renowned for the beauty of her voice and her unique sense of humor, Natalie Choquette is delighted to present to the Hudson Village Theatre audience: The funniest Broadway Opera Show in the world! Featured are Broadway hits from Les Miz, Fiddler on the Roof, Anything Goes, West Side Story, The Sound of Music and Opera favorites by Rossini, Puccini, Verdi, Bizet and many more! Beautiful music! Outrageous costumes! Hilarious skits! Audience participation! Goose bumps Guaranteed! 

    villagetheatre.ca

Saturday July 22 

  • 10:00
         –
    16:00

     
    Bohème presents Mini Bo! - Artisan Market 
    Click to read more

    VG - Village Green

    Free. 

    Bohème Hudson is a thoughtfully curated, fresh and modern craft market for makers, artisans, designers and all those who love them. Connecting local communities of creatives with artisanal aficionados, Bohème showcases independent artisans whose products and artwork are beautifully handmade as well as environmentally responsible. Bring long-lasting, sustainable beauty and functionality into your home and daily rituals: join us for Mini-BO! and shop local in a festive, diverse and welcoming atmosphere! 

  • 10:00
         –
    12:00

    Get Creative with Alcohol Inks Workshop
    Click to read more

    AA - Artists Atelier 

    Taught by Sheryna Vininsky

    The workshop will consist of three demos:

    One: painting a flower using Alcohol Ink and canned air on a Ceramic Tile, creating the background first and at the end giving some detail with  a gel pen and q tips.

    Two: landscape painting using Alcohol Ink on Yupo Paper using Blending Solution and how to lift paint recovering the white of the paper and creating texture.

    Three: showing how to prepare a canvas for Alcohol Inks, talking about the materials used Demo 4, Working on a prepared canvas with alcohol Inks using Blending Solution creating a smooth painting. with minimal texture, while spraying with alcohol.

  • 12:00 

    -

    16:00

    Slow Stitch Spa
    Click to read more

    AA - Artists Atelier 

    Cost: Small material fee. Register here. 

    This workshop will be given twice:

    12:00 - 14:00 taught by Marlise Horst

    14:00 - 16:00 taught by Carol Outram 

    The Slow Stitching Movement is a revolution within the stitching and fiber world. Hudson Fine Craft is offering two make-to-wear workshops to help you slow down and enjoy the process of creating fiber art. Two different techniques will be introduced and used as decoration for this summers hottest accessory - the bandana. The workshop includes demonstrations and hands-on time. Participation will require a small materials fee. Also on display, our Hudson Clothes Line Gallery - amazing fabric art appliques by HFC members. 

  • 13:00
         –
    15:00

    Intro to Improv: Building Characters Through Status 
    Click to read more

    HVT - Hudson Village Theatre

    Cost: $5. Register here. 

    Taught by ASM Instructor John Sheridan

    Status helps performers understand how their characters feel about themselves and how they relate to the world. A proven way of creating characters that have depth, perspective and intention - status is a lot of fun to play with! This workshop is an introduction to using status in improv, and can be applied to scripted performance as well. Through practical exercises and games, participants will learn how to physically embody status, and use status to relate to other characters in a scene while propelling stories forward. 

    villagetheatre.ca

  • 19:00

    July 1, 1867: A Day in the Life of Hudson
    Click to read more

    HVT – Hudson Village Theatre

    Tickets: Free. Purchase them here.

    Greenwood Centre for Living History presents author Karen Molson narrating an audio-visual screening of Hudson residents’ experience of Confederation 150 years ago.

    greenwood-centre-hudson.org

  • 20:00 

    An Evening of Jazz and Blues
    Click to read more

    HVT – Hudson Village Theatre

    Tickets: $25 + tax. Purchase them here. 

    Join us for an incredible night of Blues and Jazz with the international sensation Ranee Lee. Accompanied by Richard Ring – Guitar; Alec Walkington – Bass; Taurey Butler – Piano; Dave Laing – Drums. Ranee Lee’s performance material covers artists such as Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Sarah Vaughan, and even contemporaries such as James Taylor, Randy Bachman and Joni Mitchell to name a few plus original selections.

    villagetheatre.ca 

Sunday July 23 

  • 13:00
         –
    15:00

    Dance and Play: a Childrens Dance Workshop 
    Click to read more

    HVT- Hudson Village Theatre 

    Cost: $5. Register here. 

    Taught by Kerwin Barrington. 

    "Dance and Play" is a dance workshop by choreographer Kerwin Barrington geared towards kids of all ages to simply experience joy through playing in a pile of leaves. The three hour event will be structured in this way: first, as a warm up, the dancer will learn safe ways of ramping up and down from the ground. Next, they will be introduced to set choreography that is in the style of "back-up" singers routine using brooms. Finally, they will be guided through structured improvisation and given options for movement using the leaves. (The leaves themselves have been created by local artist Adele Reeves.) We will put this all together to construct a witty, vibrant and colorful dance to the song (The Night Time) Is The Right Time by Ray Charles. Participants are asked to study and learn the song in advance for they will be lip syncing. 

    villagetheatre.ca 

August 17 - 20 

  • 12:30

    &

    18:30

    Phoebe 
    Click to read more

    St. Mary's Church (642 Main Road)

    Tickets: $15. Purchase them here.

    Showtimes: August 17 - 19 at 18:30 for dinner & show 

     August 19 - 20 at 12:30 for lunch & show

    Phoebe, directed by Mary Vuorela and written by Bonnie Laing, whose play Peggy & Grace was the box office hit of the Hudson Village Theatre’s program in 2013, and whose most recent play The Cottage was given a staged reading as part of StoryFest 2013, Phoebe dramatizes highlights from the life of Phoebe Hyde, who on her death, donated her family home, Greenwood, to become a living history museum.

    “Phoebe was a local legend in Como and Hudson,” notes Theatre Panache founder and producer Heather Markgraf. “The daughter of celebrated architect Percy Nobbs, she trained as professional actor at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in London, married a sea captain who became captain of the Queen Mary, staged Shakespeare on the front lawn at Greenwood and did historical re-enactments and monologues across Canada and England. She was notoriously thrifty, a world traveller and her second husband was 32 years older than she was. She was a wonderful, eccentric character.” Theatre Panache is a non-profit theatre company based in Hudson. The artistic director, Heathre Markgraf-Lowe, is the founding and former artistic director of the Hudson Village Theatre where she has produced more than 50 shows over 10 years, directing many of them and acting in some.

    theatrepanache.ca 

Events are subject to change

Hudson

La Région

 

CONTACT :

Pour tout renseignement sur les activités de Hudson :kskulska@hotmail.com
Pour tout renseignement sur le festival :arts.alive@quebec-elan.org

 

Billets disponibles au centre Greeenwood : (450) 458-5396 ou www.greenwood-centre-hudson.org

CARTE

 

 


Nos Partenaires 

        

Horaire

Guide des lieux

JLP – Jack Layton Park (Suivez les panneaux de chemins Main et Wharf)

GC – Greenwood Cultural Centre (254 chemin Main)

HVT – Hudson Village Theatre (28 chemin Wharf)

VG - Village Green (chemin Cameron et chemin Main)

AA - Artists Atelier (407 chemin Main)


jeudi 20 juillet

  • 14:00

    &

    19:30


    Hudson Film Society presents- TIFF Official Selection Film "Maudie" 
    Click to read more

    HVT - Hudson Village Theatre 

    Billets $15. 

    Presenté par Hudson Film Society. 

    S’inspirant de l’histoire vraie de la peintre néo-écossaise Maud Lewis, MAUDIE raconte l’histoire d’amour peu probable qui survient entre un homme solitaire, Everett Lewis (Ethan Hawke) et Maud (Sally Hawkins), une jeune femme fragile, mais déterminée, qu’il engage en tant que gouvernante. Atteinte d'arthrite juvénile dégénérative, Maud cherche à se distancier de sa famille surprotectrice. Pour échapper à la misère de son quotidien, Maud se réfugie dans son art, qu’elle développe de plus en plus chaque jour et qui tranquillement est reconnu par sa communauté. De manière tout à fait inattendue, Everett tombe sous le charme de sa nouvelle amie artiste. MAUDIE dépeint les efforts d’Everett, qui veut éviter d’être encore blessé, l’amour de Maud pour cet homme difficile et son ascension fulgurante sur la scène de l’art naïf canadien.

    Avec invité spécial, Louis Leprohon, diplômé du Collège Loyola (Baccalauréat ès arts). M. Leprohon vit à St Lazare et est un spécialiste dans le domaine de l'art naïf canadien. En plus d'être un avide collectionneur, il est également auteur et a publié un ouvrage (en français et en anglais) sur le travail de Marcel Dargis, un peintre québécois dont les œuvres nous font découvrir la vie dans une paroisse francophone au Québec. M. Leprohon considère que l’œuvre de Dargis a contribué de manière importante à la préservation d’un aspect unique du patrimoine culturel québécois.

    L'artiste Audna Smith présentera également une petite exposition de ses œuvres dans le foyer du théâtre. Résidente de Hudson, Audna est membre du collectif Artistes Hudson Artist. Ses œuvres sont charmantes et rappellent le style de Maud Lewis, une ressemblance qui ressort particulièrement dans ses paysages.

    villagetheatre.ca

  • 19:00

    Shakespeare by the Lake: Romeo & Juliet 

     

    Click to read more

    JLP – Jack Layton Park 

    Showtimes: 12-15 juillet à 19:00

                     19-22 juillet à 19:00 

    Presenté par Hudson Players Club avec Actors Talk Back

    L’Hudson Players Club présente le grand classique de William Shakespeare, "Romeo & Juliet". Cette représentation marquera la 5e édition de leur série annuelle « Shakespeare by the Lake ». La metteure en scène Sophie Dee nous propose une relecture moderne et audacieuse du classique shakespearien tout en lui infusant une dose d’énergie jeune et rebelle.

    hudsonplayersclub.ca 

vendredi 21 juillet

  • 20:00

    Nathalie Choquette
    Click to read more

    HVT - Hudson Village Theatre

    Billets: $33 + tax. Achetez-les ici.

    Le spectacle de Broadway Opéra le plus hilarant au monde! Musique envoûtante! Des costumes exorbitants! Des sketchs tordants! Participation du public! Chair de poule assurée!

    villagetheatre.ca

samedi 22 juillet

  • 10:00
         –
    16:00

     
    Bohème presents Mini Bo! - Artisan Market 
    Click to read more

    VG - Village Green

    Grauit

    Bohème Hudson est un marché artisanal innovateur et moderne, qui rassemble plusieurs créateurs locaux issus de diverses sphères artisanales. Bohème Hudson est voué à la promotion des métiers d’art locaux et des produits écoresponsables faits à la main. Ce marché alternatif dans le cœur d’Hudson permet aux amateurs d’artisanat d’entrer en contact avec les artisans passionnés de la région, qui y exposeront leurs œuvres, curiosités et créations de toutes sortes !

  • 10:00
         –
    12:00

    Atelier : Get Creative with Alcohol Inks 
    Click to read more

    AA - Artists Atelier 

    Enseigné par Sheryna Vininsky. 

    L'atelier s’articulera autour de quatre démonstrations: Lors de la première démonstration, une fleur sera peinte sur un carreau de céramique en utilisant de l’encre à alcool et un souffleur d’air sec, créant ainsi d’abord l'arrière-plan pour ensuite détailler l’œuvre à l’aide d’un stylo gel et des cotons-tiges. Lors de la deuxième démonstration, un paysage sera peint à l'aide d’encre d'alcool sur du papier Yupo. Un diluant pour encre à alcool sera ensuite utilisé afin de soulever la peinture faisant ainsi faire ressortir le blanc du papier et créant de la texture au sein de la composition. Lors de la troisième démonstration, l’on démontrera comment préparer une toile pour qu’elle puisse accueillir des encres d'alcool tout en spécifiant les matériaux à utiliser. La quatrième démonstration portera sur la création d’œuvres lisses à texture minimale sur toile, en utilisant des encres à alcool et du diluant à peinture.

  • 12:00 

    -

    16:00

    Slow Stitch Spa
    Click to read more

    AA - Artists Atelier 

    Coût: Une petite frais pour les matériaux. Enregistrement ici. 

    Atelier 1 : 12:00 - 14:00 enseigné par Marlise Horst

    Atelier 2 : 14:00 - 16:00 ensiegné par Carol Outram 

    Le Slow Stitching Movement est une révolution au sein du monde de la couture. Hudson Fine Craft (HFC) vous propose deux ateliers de fabrication de linge prêt-à-porter pour vous aider à ralentir votre rythme de vie effréné et à vraiment profiter du processus créatif en couture. Deux techniques différentes seront présentées et utilisées afin de fabriquer l’accessoire le plus en vogue cet été : le bandana. L'atelier comprendra des démonstrations ainsi que des essais pratiques. Les participants devront débourser une modique somme afin de couvrir les coûts des matériaux. La collection de la Hudson Clothes Line Gallery composée d’œuvres d’art appliqué créées par des membres de HFC, y sera également exposée.

  • 13:00
         –
    15:00

    Intro to Improv: Building Characters Through Status 
    Click to read more

    HVT - Hudson Village Theatre

    Coût: $5. Enregistrement ici. 

    Animé par John Sheridan, instructeur du ASM Performing Arts

    Le statut aide les artistes à comprendre comment leurs personnages se perçoivent intérieurement et comment ils se rapportent au monde qui les entoure. Le statut est un élément clé lors de la création de personnages qui ont de la profondeur, une perspective et une intention – c’est drôle de s’amuser avec le statut d’un personnage ! Cet atelier est une introduction à l’utilisation du statut d’un personnage en impro, mais cela pourrait également s’appliquer au cinéma et au théâtre. À travers des exercices pratiques et des jeux, les participants apprendront à incarner le statut d’un personnage et à s’en servir afin d’interagir avec les autres personnages d’une même scène, tout en faisant progresser les histoires qu’ils racontent. 

    villagetheatre.ca

  • 19:00

    July 1, 1867: A Day in the Life of Hudson
    Click to read more

    HVT – Hudson Village Theatre

    Billets : Gratuit. Achetez-les ici.

    Greenwood présente l'écrivaine Karen Molson, accompagnée d’une projection audiovisuelle narrée intitulée: July 1, 1867: A Day in the Life of Confederation. Karen raconte l'histoire du Canada alors qu'il s’apprête à devenir un pays, il y a de cela 150 ans. L’histoire est centrée sur la maison Greenwood d'Hudson, une maison historique vieille de près de 300 ans, et sur la vie de ses habitants à ce moment décisif de l'histoire du Canada.

    greenwood-centre-hudson.org

  • 20:00 

    An Evening of Jazz and Blues
    Click to read more

    HVT – Hudson Village Theatre

    Billets : $25 + tax. Achetez-les ici. 

    Une soirée de jazz accompagnée de l’interprète internationale Ranee Lee !

    villagetheatre.ca 

dimanche 23 juillet

  • 13:00
         –
    15:00

    Dance and Play: a Childrens Dance Workshop 
    Click to read more

    HVT - Hudson Village Theatre 

    Coût: $5. Enregistrement ici. 

    Animé par Kerwin Barrington

    "Dance and Play" est un atelier de danse du chorégraphe Kerwin Barrington conçu pour les enfants de tous âges, qui cherche à leur faire vivre la simple joie de jouer dans un tas de feuilles. L'événement de trois heures sera structuré de cette façon: tout d’abord, en guise de réchauffement, les danseurs apprendront des moyens sécuritaires de monter en puissance à partir du sol. Ensuite, ils seront introduits à une chorégraphie semblable à une routine de chanteurs « back-up » utilisant des balais. Enfin, les danseurs seront guidés au travers d’une séance d’improvisation structurée où différents mouvements avec les feuilles leur seront proposés (les feuilles ont été créées par l'artiste locale Adele Reeves). Le tout sera mis ensemble pour créer une danse amusante, dynamique et colorée au rythme de la chanson (The Night Time) Is The Right Time de Ray Charles. 

    villagetheatre.ca 

17 - 20 août

  • 12:30

    et

    18:30

    Phoebe 
    Click to read more

    St. Mary's Church (642 chemin Main)

    Billets : $15. Achetez-les ici.

    Showtimes: 17 - 19 août à 18:30 pour souper et spectacle 

     19 - 20 août à 12:30 pour déjeuner et spectacle

    Mis en scène par Mary Vuorela. Écrit par Bonnie Laing. 

    Phoebe, écrit par Bonnie Laing, dont la pièce Peggy & Grace fut un succès phénoménal au box-office du Théâtre du Village d’Hudson en 2013, et dont la plus récente pièce The Cottage fut présentée dans le cadre du StoryFest 2013, Phoebe met en scène les points culminants de la vie de Phoebe Hyde, qui à son décès, a fait don de sa maison familiale, la maison Greenwood, afin de la transformer en un musée d'histoire vivant.

    « Phoebe était une légende locale à Como et à Hudson », souligne Heather Markgraf-Lowe, fondatrice et metteure en scène du Théâtre Panache. « Fille du célèbre architecte Percy Nobbs, elle fut formée en tant qu’actrice à la Royal Academy of Dramatic Art à Londres, s'est mariée à un capitaine de navire, qui devint le capitaine du Queen Mary, mis en scène des pièces de Shakespeare sur la pelouse de la maison Greenwood et mis en scène des reconstitutions historiques ainsi que des monologues partout au Canada et en Angleterre. Elle était notoirement économe, une voyageuse mondiale et son deuxième mari était de 32 ans son ainé. Elle était un personnage merveilleux et excentrique. » Le Théâtre Panache est une société de théâtre à but non lucratif d’Hudson. La directrice artistique du théâtre, Heather Markgraf-Lowe, fut également la fondatrice et l’ancienne directrice artistique du Théâtre du Village d’Hudson, où elle mit en scène plus de 50 spectacles en 10 ans, au sein desquels elle occupa non seulement le rôle de metteure en scène, mais parfois aussi d’actrice.

    theatrepanache.ca 

La programmation est sujette à changements